USAPL Michigan



USAPL MI is the home of USA Powerlifting in the State of Michigan.

The Michigan State Chapter of USA Powerlifting oversees and maintains Michigan records and results under the authority of USA Powerlifting.  Furthermore, USAPL MI is responsible for organizing local meets and the State championship for all age groups and divisions.

USA Powerlifting has a collective membership in excess of 10’000 across all 50 states.  It has been America’s choice of drug-free powerlifting since 1980.

USA Powerlifting is a 201(c)(3) non-profit organization and is the U.S. affiliate of the International Powerlifting Federation (IPF).  The IPF comprises member federations from 83 countries on 6 continents.

The USAPL Michigan Chairman: Miguel Ruelan
The USAPL Michigan Vice-Chairman: Marvin Coleman
USAPL certified referees:

National Referees:
Alex Crichton

State Referees:
William Cowen

Wesley Hanna
Tod Miller
Thomas Zintsmaster
Thomas Gribble
Ronald Hemenway
Robert Fabiano
Mike Poirier
Mike Michelakis
Mike Casey
Mike Brye
Matthew Larson
Marvin Coleman
Lucas Southard
Laura Styrlund
Laura Radecki
Kristin Berard
Katrina Warner
Karen Miller
John Zintsmaster
Jennifer Varner
Jeff Mumaw
Jack Marcus
Greg Guthrie
Garrett Curtis
Dr Miguel Ruelan
Carol Fabrizio
Bruce Edwards
Brian Birchmeier
Barb Zintsmaster
Adam Plagens
Gina Hensley
Dane Roach

These positions are filled by volunteers.  Referees do not receive payment. It is the love of the sport that make these men and women give their time to make our meets great.

The Spotters and Loaders we have at each meet are also volunteers.  Their work is vital to every meet and we appreciate their help and physical endurance more with each passing competition.